Sweater Envy

I see them everywhere…I mean EVERYWHERE. Maybe it’s because I wanted one so badly, or maybe it’s because I live in Whistler where there’s not a lot of shopping options. But whatever the reason is, it seems that everyone has a knit Aritzia sweater.

I am jealous.

Not only have I wanted one for a couple of years now, but I am also on a shopping hiatus until April, which puts purchasing one completely out of the question. Isn’t that how it always works?!

Of course Megan Fox has one...figures...

Horses!!

Now I know it’s horrible to want something just because everyone else has it. That is a recipe for feeling constantly unfulfilled and can produce a fairly ugly heart – I don’t want an ugly heart! And quite honestly, the whole point of NOT buying clothes for five months is so that I can feel what it’s like to say “no” – something we are not necessarily that accustomed to.

My solution? Well…I am a knitter…and it is a knit sweater…so I’m making my own! Yup. Instead of spending $100 on the sweater that everyone else has, I dug through my yarn stash and found some acrylic yarn that I purchased from Walmart. I know…sounds cheap, but fyi, those Aritzia sweaters are made of the same cheap-o yarn, and that’s not really a bad thing. Acrylics can take abuse!

So here’s the pattern that inspired me to tap into my creativity and test my knitting endurance…

Debbie Bliss Knitting Magazine Fall/Winter 2011

It’s been over two months now, and I’m ALMOST done! Here’s a peek at my progress. I have swapped the gray and white around since I had so much white yarn to use up. So stoked about how it’s going…just hope it fits!

Here's the back piece - I made the sweater a few inches longer than the pattern.

Snowflakes up close and personal...

Front panel without buttons at this point...

My husband Dan was so proud of me for sticking with my shopping hiatus, that he bought me an Aritzia sweater for my birthday a couple of weeks ago. He has bought me clothes in the past, but this one was special – his way of saying “Good job hun…”

Me in the sweater which I wear practically everyday (*Note the little white piece of knitting to my left - my sweater in progress!)

2 comments
  1. Rae said:

    Awwwww, what a good husband. That sweater you are making looks amazing already!

    • tarafreydurston said:

      I know…he’s the best!

Leave a Reply

